One of the people whose work I admire is Jill Badonsky, author of The Nine Modern Day Muses and a Bodyguard. She is a creativity coach and has a sense of humor and creativity that is sorely lacking in the personal coaching industry. Emphasize the sense of humor.

At the time she was writing this book, before I ever heard of her, I was listening to my intuition which kept saying “write a book and make the angels and assorted deities hanging around in your mind into characters who can help people with their everyday lives, sort of a self help recipe message board story book”. But I didn’t act on what I heard. Jill did. In her book (and work) she has reinvented the ancient Greek goddesses known as muses and applied them to modern day life, encouraging us to tap into their energy through our imagination. There are different muses for different purposes. Her book and workshops give ways in which you can work with the muses yourself.

I interrupt this blog entry for an angel alert: I was working on the header for this site and honestly, I thought the colors and design were cliche as far as angels were concerned, but I felt nudged to continue on with it. At the same time I kept thinking about Ms. Badonsky and that I needed to add a link to her website. When I finished my design I popped over to her site and discovered that the color scheme is the same.

What makes a muse different than an angel, then? My first thought is that it could be a difference of vibration. “Vibration” for me is more of a metaphor than an actual thing, although who knows, it could be that when you use your angelic mind you are vibrating on a certain frequency that is different than the one you use to wash dishes. Probably measured in “angelherz”.

The purpose of a muse and an angel is very similar, mainly to inspire in some way or another. Different muses and angels cover different areas, but both cover creativity and are intimately connected with it.

Terry Lynn Taylor is an author who was one of the people to make angel spirituality mainstream, writing such books as Messengers of Light: The Angel’s Guide to Spiritual Growth. In an article published in Awareness Magazine, and also on her website, she talks about the connection between creativity and angels, and how angels can help remove blocks that keep your creative life force from flowing freely. In my opinion that’s what art, music, poetry, and other creative acts were originally intended to be used for.

Inspiration, then, comes from both angels and muses, whose purpose it is to lift your spirits and get you into a higher state of mind. I know that the image of the tortured artist is popular and I fall into that trap myself regularly. A lot of great art has come from very unhappy people. What if the purpose of doing art is to try and connect with angels and muses and some kind of higher level of consciousness as a way to pull us out of our angst, a distress signal for a higher consciousness rescue team to come lift us out of the mental and emotional traps we find ourselves in. What if inspiration was a signal that you have made the connection and now is the time to let go of some of the constraints in your life? What if the simple act of drawing a picture could connect you with a web of mysterious helpers who could help you manifest what you need most? Stay tuned…

