Sylvia Browne’s new book, Psychic, is an engaging autobiography. It tells stories of her life starting from birth to the present. It is fascinating and a quick, entertaining read.  She talks about her experiences with angels, spirit guides, ghosts, and being a psychic medium, as well as an insider’s view of her life.  Continue reading to see what I have to say about it but I encourage you to read the book for yourself and come to your own conclusions. This is just my interpretation.

I was not surprised to learn that she has been around people who abused her. Many of the prominent psychics and healers of her generation were, such as Louise Hay. When you’re around people who are not nurturing and are frightening instead, it’s a natural thing to start forging connections with the Other Side. Some people end up stuck halfway through the journey of transformation with schizophrenia or other mental disorders. Others somehow manage to push through to the Other Side and become psychics and healers.

As a psychic medium myself I find some discrepencies between my experiences and Sylvia’s. And I’m the type of person who is hypersensitive to incongruencies. So while the book is great as a book to read, I dont know that it accurately represents the whole psychic experience. There has always been something about Sylvia’s and my energy that is not compatible.

My personal sense of her, and this is through my own filters, is that a lot of what she experiences is ego based. In my creative world nothing is absolute, and yet in Sylvia’s world the Other Side is exactly 3 feet away from us. I think a lot of how she perceives things is filtered through her experiences of being abused and out of control and also going to Catholic school. She seems to need to have things in black and white. And she never once says this is her interpretation, she just says this is how it is, period. That really bothers me. It is no surprise that she has started her own religion.

She also says, repeatedly, that psychics can’t read for themselves. That’s simply incorrect. I think there is a whole new generation of psychics who can. I’m one of them.

The other thing that I think may have been true when people were first tuning into angels and writing about them in the 1990s, but isn’t any more, is that angels don’t have free will of their own. I think that’s the way people sensed them because that’s as attuned to the angels as they could be. It’s my sense that the angels have been working very hard with our subconscious minds to raise our levels of awareness so that we can see them for more than just robotic messengers and helpers. Sylvia’s interpretation of the angels is the more robotic, hierarchical one. She says that the different hierarchies of angels have specific wing colors. Maybe. But again, to me that’s limiting things. And that’s not MY sense of them.

Sylvia was a ground breaker in her day. She absolutely paved the way for all of the rest of us to get closer to mainstream. From looking at YouTube videos it looks like she has made some grave mistakes such as giving misinformation on national TV as the absolute truth, and yet she is still hugely popular. I respect her for her ability to turn her gifts into a business empire.

I understand that people at certain places in their spiritual evolution need a lot of rules and absolutes. But then they should be given permission to move beyond them. I’m all about people having direct experiences of their own and knowing that what they experience is right, even if it’s different. I am my Quaker great-great-great grandfather’s granddaughter, in that respect.

Here’s the thing about the Other Side…well, EVERYTHING. The universe is in a constant state of creation. You can’t tell me that the angels and spirits guides and everything else aren’t in on the creative process and evolving themselves. I am, first and foremost, a creative person, tapped into the creative flow all the time. And I will tell you, it doesn’t stay static. The problem is that people, depending on their level of openness, “download” information from the Other Side at a much slower speed than the one it – the Other Side – is at. By the time our human minds process the information received things have already changed. But people get enthralled with their own perceptions and want to keep things exactly as they are.

And there are a millions of abused people in the world who are desperately trying to have some control over things and want things to stay the same. The violations suffered cause the abused to be much more open to the Other Side because of shredded boundaries. Put those two together and you have someone who receives a comforting piece of information they may not even fully understand and then they hold onto it like a security blanket forever.

I feel inspired to give Sylvia a message from the angels through me. “There is a shield of anger in your energy field that needs to be addressed and removed. It has been protecting you for a long time, Sylvia, but it also preventing you from evolving and seeing your guides clearly. The process to use will be presented to you but you won’t like it. In the end it will be a simple thing, relatively painless. And you will wonder why you waited so long.”

And my guides tell me to offer Sylvia some healing sessions. Ha ha…I bet she gets a lot of offers like that from unknown, financially struggling healers such as myself. But I am doing the leading edge work now, opening new doors of perception. I hope I never stop expecting things to be different tomorrow, in ANY dimension, than they are today. And, as always, I know that when I offer healing it means that there is some common issue that I share with the healee that will be healed as well. In this case, Sylvia and I both have the angry shield.

May the angels, masters, deities, spirit guides, fairies, elementals, and helpful humans come to us both and show us the way to transform it. And I’m certain that this applies to whoever is reading this, as well.

